General election 2024: Meet the candidates battling it out for Camden’s two seats

polling station
polling station

Residents go to the polls on 4 July. Photograph: Martin Deutsch

Nineteen people are set to battle for votes in Camden’s two constituencies come the general election on 4 July.

Twelve candidates have put themselves forward to be MP for Holborn and St Pancras, with another seven in Hampstead and Highgate.

The constituency of Hampstead and Highgate has been reinstated after it was dispersed in 2010, due to this year’s constituency boundary changes.

Several wards from Holborn and St Pancras have become the new Hampstead and Highgate constituency.

The incumbent MP for Hampstead, Tulip Siddiq of Labour, will be standing again.

She will be up against Liberal Democrat Scott Emery, Conservative Don Williams, and Lorna Jane Russell of the Green Party.

Reform UK’s Catherine Becker is also contesting the seat, as well as Christie Elan-Cane from Rejoin EU, and independent candidate Jonathan Louis Livingstone.

In Holborn and St Pancras, leader of the Labour Party Sir Keir Starmer will be hoping to not only become Prime Minister but also retain the seat he has held since 2015.

His seat is highly contested by 11 other candidates. They are Green Party candidate David Robert Stansell, Mehreen Malik of the Conservatives, and Liberal Democrat hopeful Charlie Clinton.

They will be joined on the ballot paper by Reform UK’s David Roberts, Tom Scripps of the Socialist Equality Party, and UKIP’s John Edmund Poynton. There are also three independent candidates: Andrew Josef Feinstein, Wais Islam and Senthil Kumar.

And of course, it wouldn’t be a UK general election without travelling independent candidate Bobby Smith, aka “Elmo”, and Nick the Incredible Flying Brick of the Official Monster Raving Loony Party.

To vote in the UK general election you must:

  • be registered to vote
  • be a British, Irish or qualifying Commonwealth citizen
  • be resident at an address in the UK (or a UK citizen living abroad who has previously been registered to vote in the UK or has lived in the UK)
  • not be legally excluded from voting

The deadline for registering to vote is Tuesday 18 June, and the deadline for submitting a proxy vote application is 5pm on Wednesday 26 June.

You can register to vote here.

Polling stations will be open from 7am until 10pm on 4 July, and you must take photo ID with you – a full list of valid identification documents can be found on this page.

If you don’t have a form of photo ID, you can apply for a free Voter Authority Certificate here.

The deadline for registering for a postal vote is 5pm on Wednesday 19 June, and you can do so here.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.